• info@ijawnation.org
  • Ekise No. 2 Quarters, Patani, Delta State, Nigeria.
 Open grazing bill passes first reading at Delta Assembly

Open grazing bill passes first reading at Delta Assembly


A Bill for a Law to Provide for the Regulation of Livestock Grazing, Rearing and Marketing and to Prohibit Open Grazing and Related Matters, on Tuesday, passed first reading on the Floor of the Delta State House of Assembly.

The motion which was moved by Oghenerume Yakubu Reuben, the member representing Ughelli South Constituency was seconded by Christopher Ochor Ochor, the Deputy Speaker of the House.

The Speaker Oborevwori slated Wednesday for the Second Reading of the Bill.

While marking the second session of the Seventh Assembly last month, Oborevwori had assured that when the House resumes plenary, it would commence the process of enacting the law to ban anti-open grazing in the state.

He said: “We will address the issue urgently, because we are in support of the ban on open grazing, as recently canvassed by Southern governors.”

In another development, the Delta State House of Assembly has concluded arrangements to screen eight more commissioner-designates.

The Assembly received a list of additional eight Commissioner designates for screening and confirmation from Governor Ifeanyi Okowa on Tuesday.

The list of the Commissioner-designates was contained in the letter of the Delta State Governor Ifeanyi Okowa to the Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Sheriff Oborevwori and read on the floor of the House on Tuesday.

The nominees are to appear in the House on Tuesday, July 20, 2021, for screening and confirmation.

They are Prof. Patrick Muoboghare immediate past Commissioner for Higher Education; Chika Ossai immediate past Commissioner for Trade and Investments; Basil Ganagana for Commissioner for Energy; and Chief Emmanuel Amgbaduba immediate past Commissioner for Oil and Gas.

Others include Dr Mordi Ononye immediate past Commissioner for Health; Ovie Oghoore immediate past Commissioner for Transport.

Others are Mrs Bridget Ayanfulu, Executive Assistant to the Governor on Girl Child and Solomon Golley for Chairman Ethiope West Local Government Area.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *