• info@ijawnation.org
  • Ekise No. 2 Quarters, Patani, Delta State, Nigeria.
 Donald Trump to include Nigeria on US travel ban list

Donald Trump to include Nigeria on US travel ban list


United State President Donald Trump is planning to place travel restrictions to Nigeria and other six African and Asian countries.

According to administration officials, the Trump government plans to add seven countries to a group of nations subject to travel restrictions, including Nigeria, Africa’s most populous country, along with others in Africa and Asia.

Government officials who have seen the list said new restrictions would apply to travelers and immigrants from Nigeria, Belarus, Eritrea, Kyrgyzstan, Myanmar, Sudan and Tanzania.

A senior Trump administration official said that countries that failed to comply with security requirements, including biometrics, information-sharing and counter-terrorism measures, would be affected.

Some countries could be banned from participating in the diversity visa lottery program.

The officials said the list isn’t final, and on Tuesday the White House was still debating whether to include one or two of the countries.

The planned restrictions might be implemented on Monday, WSJ said.

The president has since said its policy restricting travel is necessary to prevent potential acts of terrorism, as countries on the list don’t adequately vet their travelers to the U.S.

This is not the first time Trump will place travel restrictions on countries.

Iran, Libya, North Korea, Somalia, Syria and Yemen, as well as some Venezuelan officials and their relatives are under different travel restrictions placed on them by Trump.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *